Writing 101.2 day 1 – Why I write, or don’t

Hello once again Writing 101!

I had to look back on what I wrote the last time I did this assignment, and make sure I did not write the same drivel.  I wanted to make sure the nonsense I wrote this time around was fresh.  There is no reason to be lazy about these assignments!

I have not been able to writ over the past few weeks.  Regardless of daily prompts, or even my own relentless nagging that I should be writing. So rather than examine why I AM writing, I would rather explore why I am NOT writing.  Maybe move past it.

I am not writing because I lost the vision in my right eye about 2 months ago.  It has not been easy.  I have gained a new level of empathy and compassion for those who lose all of their vision.  I have had to alter the ways I do things just to perform simple daily tasks.  Everything I do, had to now be planned out in advance to avoid hurting myself.  Depth perception was probably the hardest to deal with.  Trying to put things away or  grabbing things was now a comedy of errors.

I am not writing because there is this guy that I spend a lot of time with.  He distracts me with tales of old timey baseball, and reads books to me, takes me on long walks to obscure meat shops, cooks nearly every meal with me, and makes me laugh.  Of course all of this is only inspiring me to be better at everything in my life.  So much so , that one might think that I could be a master juggler by now, I’m not (I don’t have a lot of hope of ever being that good at it!).

I am not writing because I am distracted by the joys that life has to offer.  I find so many amazing things every day. Such as: do you know how easy it is to make paprika?  Circus and clown history alone I can get lost in for days.  Plus, I am working on some new costumes that will defy the imagination!  Fun stuff ahead for me.

Not writing isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I guess.  As long as I am being inspired to laugh every day, I am going to go easy on myself about not writing.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101.2 day 1 – Why I write, or don’t

  1. I’ll not write right for all the right reasons….but they are still not right. I laugh about nearly everything even that little button laying on the step between the first and second floor. But I can’t laugh about not writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

