Firsts..

I accepted this writing challenge to make myself face a lot, that I wouldn’t normally be told to face.  Today is about first love and first kiss.

My first love is, was and always will be art.  Not a boy named Art.  The ability to create something from my mind for other people to enjoy.

Google defines art as:

art1
ärt/
noun
  1. 1.
    the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.
    “the art of the Renaissance”
  2. 2.
    the various branches of creative activity, such as painting, music, literature, and dance.
    “the visual arts”

The arts.

I could paint, sing and dance before I knew how to read and write.  I loved painting pictures of large animals charging through things, much to my mother’s chagrin.  Especially elephants and bulls.

I do very much consider art my first love, because of it’s very nature.  How art stirs the soul.  I always felt the awe and wonder when looking at other people’s work and feeling elated and speechless.

Watching Saturday morning cartoons was more than joy for me.  It was sustenance!  All week long I would pine to sit with these animated celebrities like Popeye, and Bugs Bunny.  Then relish each and every second I spent with them.  Noticing new and fascinating details and nuances every time I watched a cartoon over.  Making me just want more and more.

The first time I saw a real Van Gogh, I felt butterflies. Specifically; Almond Blossoms.  How does one put into words love at first sight?  I was so enamored with that painting, I still get goose bumps when I see it.

When I am creating a piece, I lose focus on everything else in life.  It is all about that one thing!  No one can steer me away from it, and it is all I think about and talk about.

This all points to me being very in love with art.  Love has been the inspiration for the creation of so much of the art we surround our lives with.

Yes, yes, yes! I know Dear Readers, that you all get that point by now, but what about that first kiss you are wondering? At least I am hoping you are wondering, because that would be the only reason to keep reading, right?  The juicy stuff, not this codgety old metaphorical crap!

Well, I have written some blogs that cover it.

Leave a Reply

